women's history

handmade moments

IMG_5306.JPG
I am so proud of this little piece of yarn I spun. I cannot wait to learn more about spinning in Iceland!

Today was the last day of the Handmade Nation class. So sweet. Hard to say goodbye. I met great students and enjoyed being taught by my colleague Dr. Heather Kopelson.

Rather than overshare via text – especially because my wrists are tired from editing the Grant Green film; carpal tunnel blues –  I will present the video below, which provides context for my interest in handmade items. Be sure to scroll all the way down and see the beautiful flowers blossoming in our yard now. It’s Alabama-hot today. Roll Tide!

IMG_5327.JPG
Brittany, my classmate, touched us when she shared her handmade items, but also a quilt made by her grandmother who is from Selma, AL, and likely knew some of the original Gee’s Bend quilters.  She is enrolled in my “Bebop to Hip Hop: Music and Young America” course next fall. Looking forward to continuing to learn with her.
IMG_5325.JPG
In the course, we learned about craftivism, or how people who make crafts can be activists. Some people make little “protest banners” like this and leave them in places for others to find. I can’t wait to share some love from Tuscaloosa by leaving this banner somewhere. Brittany sewed the heart.  I sewed the rest. We use embroidery thread from a friend named Christa who now teaches in Denmark. She had a postdoc at UA. We started the same year, in fact!
IMG_5291.JPG
Me learning how to spin!
IMG_5287
Me and the rest of the class and Dr. Kopelson and two lace-making guests.
Leave a Reply

