choreography · freedom · labor

dance piece brings memory of grandmas and those who struggle

IMG_3835.JPG
My grandmother gave me this dress when I was a young woman. I loved vintage dresses.

Many years ago, my grandmother gave me this dress. It is a dress from another time. Last night, I saw a performance that left me in tears. It reminded me of this dress. The choreography was by Cornelius Carter, Professor of Dance at the University of Alabama, someone I call friend.

Think working women. Think porch steps in urban spaces. Think hands tired from working. Think community. Think protest. Think 1960. Think Gil Scott Heron and Aretha.

If you’re in Alabama this week, see this work, which is part of the spring Alabama Repertory Dance Theatre (ARDT).   All of the pieces are choreographed by faculty and feature students. I saw students enrolled in my “American Civilization to 1865” course onstage last night and it made me proud. Carter’s work also pays homage to the  images of black life in the university’s Paul R. Jones  Collection of American Art.img_3836

Leave a Reply

