art · books · courage

20th anniversary of Mae book

Angel Mae.jpg
Angel Mae

This July will mark the 20th anniversary of the publication of my first book, Cuttin’ the Rug Under the Moonlit Sky: Stories and Drawings About a Bunch of Women Named Mae (Doubleday, 1997). A lot has changed since then. If you’d told me I’d be in the classroom teaching, I wouldn’t be entirely surprised.

Lissett Mae.jpg
Lisette Mae

One of the things I enjoyed as a kid was teaching although in a different context. I had to babysit my little sister. I played teacher with her and her friends as my students.

Cora Mae.jpg
Cora Mae

That said, I also loved art back then and used my closet door as my pretend gallery walls. By the time I was in fifth grade, I attended an expressive arts program at Rainbow Park Elementary in Opa-locka, Florida, on Fridays and there, became better acquainted with oil and acrylic painting and even pottery.

Etiennea Mae.jpg
Etienne Mae

Across time, I became more interested in writing and became a journalist. I say all of this to say, as I tell my students, life is a winding road and who knows where it will lead. But stay alert and who knows how things will turn out. Mae you have everything your heart desires even in this increasingly unpredictable world.

Leave a Reply

