Uncategorized

connecting across time and space

IMG_7853Here is my first post for a blog that now addresses issues earlier entertained on various blogs. A new year is upon us and it’s time to streamline and simplify.

In honor of that effort, I am posting a photo of myself on a public transit platform in Chicago. A graduate school friend and I were saying goodbye and taking photos of one another from different platforms. She is now in her native Hungary and I miss her so much.

Our interaction pushed my thinking on how people from very different backgrounds are forced to inhabit space for a short duration on transportation networks like subways. We are separated and not for reasons students often discuss in my The Nineteenth Century City and Gender Race and Urban Space courses. We will doubtless discuss the same at some point in my new course, Bebop to Hip Hop: Young America and Music.

A short storyscape of my time on the CTA platform with my dear Aniko is below. It is followed by  my favorite CTA (that would be the group) song. I couldn’t resist. I wonder how many students in the Bebop to Hip Hop class will jump right over some of that great music from the late 1960s. Can’t wait to hear their thoughts and open new readings with them. Here’s to more conversation in the new year. Postscript: CTA aka Chicago, congrats on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction.

 

4 thoughts on “connecting across time and space

  1. Sharony, you sound like a very cool teacher who teaches some pretty hip classes. If I were a student again (well, I’m a perennial student, actually), I’d be enrolling in your classes. Love the idea of people inhabiting the same space for short durations. As a short story writer, I’m always interested in ideas like that. You look to have a very interesting blog, and I’m looking forward to stopping back, checking it out. Wishing you a very Happy New Year! 🙂

    Like

      1. I always found that when I taught a new class I was teaching myself — and typically I believe I learned more than the students did! LOL Best wishes with the new class … and best wishes for 2016 — Happy New Year! 🙂

        Like

  2. Amen. And back at you. PS 42 degrees in Ttown today. First time I get to take out my long 70s-looking coat picked up at a clothes swap. That’ll get me in the mood for this class alright. Superfly. Onward!

    Like

Leave a Reply

