Uncategorized

if memory serves….

Ole Miss Maybelle

This drawing is titled “Ole Miss Maybell.” It is inspired by a real-life homeless woman who lived in Detroit when I resided there many years ago. The drawing appeared with several others in my first book. I co-presented words that accompanied this drawing  last night at an event honoring Black History Month at the University of Alabama. Many technologies figured into the art exhibit showcasing this drawing and other images.  All in all, this was a great walk down memory lane. Based on the hits on my Gender, Race and the Urban Space blog, my students are also now seeing that I found a way to make this a flip teaching opportunity. I look forward to tomorrow’s classes.

Leave a Reply

